My Scandinavian Core Course Week

Studying Scandinavia

Here at DIS, I chose the core course The European Urban Experience: Why Cities Matter. As an urban studies student who is rounding off their college career, I wanted to take a class that wasn’t as intensive but would provide me with an experience I could only learn here in Copenhagen. Looking back on this decision, I am so happy I chose this course. My class spends little time in the classroom and focuses on place-based learning. Another perk of this class is I have more creative freedom with assignments, meaning I have less pressure for academic achievement and more focus on learning through experience.

What brings the experience of learning here in Copenhagen to the next level is how much of a playground the city is for urban studies students. The sheer amount of public transportation and alternative mobility infrastructure is enough to constitute a class (literally one that I am taking called Getting There: Transportation in Urban Europe). I have already been on numerous field studies for my core course taking us throughout the city on walking tours to see the urban fabric from our own perspectives. 

My favorite part of these small trips has been seeing the aftermath and effects of the 2023 World Congress of Architects that took place in Copenhagen earlier this year. Many temporary interventions and art pieces scatter the city. There is even an exhibit, called Copenhagen in Common, in the Danish Architecture Center dedicated to Copenhagen being the 2023 World Capital of Architecture

While Copenhagen, and Denmark at large, makes its global mark through architecture and urban innovation, it also contributes to the larger impact of Scandinavia. The Scandinavian countries of Norway, Sweden, and Denmark are, individually and as a region, renowned for design, architectural identity, and placemaking. 

Sightseeing in Sweden

Through my core course to Gothenburg, Sweden, I experienced the individual identities of both countries and the ties that link them together. 

The Harbour:

In Gothenburg, a city relatively much younger than Copenhagen, the harbor area is beginning to deindustrialize, developing into a multi-use space for the pedestrian scale. We visited the sustainable harbor development center, Älvrummet, and toured the area to learn about adaptive reuse of industrial structures, sustainable solutions in housing, retaining industrial identity, and the current function of the harbor for industry and residence.

Historical Town:

Though Gothenburg doesn’t have a medieval footprint like Copenhagen, there is still an “old town” area in the city called Haga. This was actually the first area we visited and I was completely swept off my feet by the charm of the town. A few of my favorites  include: the flag banners, the historic yellow buildings, the Hagabullen (giant cinnamon buns), the traditional candy store, and the multitude of cozy shops.

Culture Square:

Atop a hill in Gothenburg, one can find the cultural hub of the city, including the theater, the art museum, the library, and the concert hall (all within walking distance). We visited the art museum, viewing art from many different centuries and exhibits curated to house them. We participated in a guided tour of a few exhibits and explored a bit on our own to see the artwork and design featured in the museum. Of course the gift shop was probably the exhibit most visited by us.

Must See & Do:

Despite a packed schedule in Gothenburg, I managed to visit, shop, and eat on my own. Here are list of must-dos if you ever visit:

  • Grab a chemistry flask at the SteamPunk Bar 
  • Play a round at the BouleBar
  • Enjoy a vegetarian buffet meal at Cafe Andrum, the most gorgeous art nouveau restaurant 
  • Take the tram throughout town
  • Visit Haga and grab a fika (coffee or sweets break) with a friend 
  • Keep an eye out for public art throughout the city
  • Take time to notice the little things (like the amazing flower arrangements)
  • Visit the art museum gift shop (it was large and almost like a book store – highly reccomend)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started