Solo Adventures: Malmö

Throughout the tumultuous times of college and young adulthood, I have experienced literally life-altering growth and transformation. As I near the end of this period of my life, I’ve consciously embarked on a journey of getting reacquainted with myself. I’ve begun spending more time with myself, not by myself. From solo trips to self-dates, I’ve learned to enjoy time alone.

This past Saturday I took a day trip to Malmö, Sweden (a day trip to another country is still a wild concept to me). By noon, I found myself on the familiar commute on the S-train to the center of Copenhagen. At the central station, I purchased round trip tickets to Malmö valid throughout the whole day for around $30 USD (no time restrictions, pretty inexpensive, perfect for a spur of the moment trip). I boarded the regional train that would carry me to Sweden. I’ve taken a similar route during my core course week trip to Gothenburg, however this time the experience was different, individual. I took in the views of the North Sea and windmills as the train crossed the Øresund bridge. After a 30-minute ride, I arrived at the Malmö C station. I hadn’t planned an itinerary nor did I know anything about my surroundings. 

At this point I made an executive decision to just wander and see where I ended up. Of course I found my way to the shopping street and main center of activity for a Saturday afternoon. Mainstream brands plastered the storefronts with historical architecture towering above. The side streets weaved through the main street, hosting art galleries, unique cafes, small shops, and even free museums. 

Some of the highlights I encountered:

Later in the afternoon I began to search for a place for a late lunch and I eventually stumbled upon the bustling Brunchoteket. The semi-American style brunch restaurant was bursting with customers and the server gave me a tired look when I asked for a table for one. I took this as a sign that I arrived during rush hour. The server seated me at the only empty table and I ordered right away. Fairly quickly, I received my meal: a matcha latte (with rose petals!), a grilled cheese, and a melon salad with pistachio and mint. After eating, I completely understood why the restaurant was packed and the line was out the door. If you find yourself in Malmö, this is a great place for brunch or even just a warm drink. 

With the free wifi at the cafe, I searched for local thrift stores in the area, as many of the mainstream stores weren’t my speed. I eventually found my way to two thrift stores: Loppis Lounge & Stadsmissionens Secondhand och Kafé. These two shops were some of the best second-hand stores I have ever been to. I could have stayed at both locations for hours (plus they were only a few blocks from eachother). Unfortunately, I came on a Saturday and the stores closed at 3pm/4pm. I only spent 90 minutes total shopping, but I left with such a haul. I ended up with a black lace up blouse with white embroidery, cream knit sweatervest, patterned grey scarf, yellow criss-cross top, and two books for collage.

As the shops closed up for the day, I made my way back to the train station and caught a ride back to Copenhagen. I reflected on my day in Malmö. That Saturday I reminded myself that I am capable of being with myself, capable of being spontaneous, and capable of making decisions. Needless to say, I will be going back to Malmö this semester!


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started