Navigating Barcelona

First Glances

Upon arrival in Barcelona for my core course travel week, the first thing that struck me was the change in climate. The environment felt warmer physically and socially. The buildings formed a climate of cohesive urban fabric unique to Barcelona. The mix of gothic architecture and quick-to-miss details around the city overwhelmed me. This sensory experience enhanced as I sat down to a late lunch. I indulged in the first of many dishes of patatas bravas, a tapas dish unique to Barcelona. Little did I know, there would be

Iconic Details

As I explored the colorful city in class and solo, I began to recognized design themes throughout the city. Subtle details caught my eye at every glance. The iconic sidewalk tiles, pink facades, and gothic embellishments drew my gaze each time. Recurring imagery of feminine form completed the romantic scenery of Barcelona. Being able to learn in a group format while still having time to explore alone enhanced my trip even more. The ability to decompress from social walking tours and spend time meandering the city solo allowed me to enjoy aspects of the trip I wouldn’t have been able to otherwise.

Gaudi Galore

Gaudi’s influence reached all corners of the city, from mosaics to organic form to large scale buildings. Many of the walking tours and speakers I encountered on the study tour referenced Gaudi’s impact on modern architectural efforts and themes of authentic preservation and narrative. These educational and experiential speakers contributed another lens to view the city through, aside from simply taking in its beauty. I found some of my favorite details in the mosaic works in Park Guell, the colorful contrasting facades throughout the city, and the flourishing foliage that breaks up the urban landscape.

Hidden Gems

Aside from the official attractions of Barcelona, I found many iconic elements of the city. Consistent sprinkling of public art throughout the city in the form of soda can messages tied together the side streets of neighborhoods. Flags and banners adorn the windows and streets, proudly displaying the Catalan and Gràcia flags.

I visited restaurants and bars with the group and on my own and found some hidden gems on the way:

  • DIS picks (sister restaurants):

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started