Clumsy in Copenhagen

As a self-identifying klutz I am known to trip, stumble, and come close to injury. Even in Copenhagen I can’t avoid my clumsy nature.  After stumbling over cobblestones for three months I inevitably stumbled too hard. Early afternoon on a Thursday in the DIS stairwell has never been a place I thought I would be lounging, however after missing a step, I ended up surrounded by fellow students and staff. As soon as I slipped, my professor, whose class I just left, called the emergency line and assured me that I should go to the hospital. My classmates brought me water and alerted the student hub staff. My friends passing me in the stairwell sent well wishes as they went to class. I received many comforting texts that evening from colleagues and even students I’ve never metwho witnessed the aftermath of my fall. From the moment I fell I wasn’t alone. As my mind ran through every worst possibility, DIS staff were there distracting me and assuring me that whatever happened I would be okay. Within 30 minutes a cab was called to take the DIS staff and myself to the emergency room. 

Despite the many differences between the U.S. and Denmark, the waiting time in the ER remains the same. Luckily, the DIS staff person kept me company and remained relaxed and conversational so that I felt as calm as I could be. After a few hours I was taken back for an x-ray followed by the waiting room again. Finally, I was later taken back to learn that my foot was not broken! Though I definitely heard a pop when I fell, the doctor reassured me that it was just a sprain and I would be able to walk on it and wouldn’t need to use crutches or a boot. Despite the relief of only having a minor injury, the DIS staff person let me vent my mixed emotions and anxiety. Though this day was definitely not ideal and caused a great deal of stress, I am so relieved that I wasn’t alone and had a familiar face next to me.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started