Journey in Jutland

Ribe

Tucked away on the western coast of Justland lies Ribe, the oldest town in Denmark! Over our 5 day break I journeyed to the cities of Aarhus, Ribe, and Skagen. The quaint town of Ribe embodied the idea of Hygge, complete with handicraft shops, small cafes, and a cozy Christmas market that tie together with a synonymous brick exterior. I made it to Ribe right before winter weather hit Denmark, which led to some jaw-dropping sunrises and sunsets. While in Ribe I stayed in a jail turned hotel called Den Gamle Arrest. Right in the center of town, I easily visited the local shops, parks, and museums. I highly reccomend the witch hunt museum for immersive videos and audio guide, and the viking museum for a life-size recreation of Ribe life throughout time. Even just walking the streets of Ribe make the visit to this picturesque town worth it.

Wadden Sea National Park

A short ride on the bus or a taxi from Ribe will take you to the rolling expansive fields of the Wadden Sea National Park. Despite the temperature being close to freezing, this trip to the coast proved to be absolutely worth it. Arriving at the beginning of ‘golden hour,’ I spent at least an hour gazing at the landscape, snapping photos, and examining the rocky coast. Immersed in my surroundings, I felt almost inserted into a painting. After seeing the coast I headed back to the Vadehavscentret (which I had studied in class!) to have a refreshing late lunch at the cafe and peruse the architecture of the center. The park extends to small islands close to Ribe and along the coast where in the spring and summer you can visit to see more of the park and maybe even see a seal! This afternoon excursion is a must for anyone traveling near Ribe.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started